Joint Astronomy Centre
Show document only
JAC Home
About the JAC
Contact Info
Staff-only Wiki
Web Cameras

See the UKIRT home page for the current status of UKIRT
Survey Observing
Other Observing
Observing Tool Manual
Applying For Time
Get non-UKIDSS Data
Data Reduction
Acknowledge Us
Technical Reference
JAC Safety Manual
TSS Priority Page
UKIRT Opticon Support
Opticon Trans-National Access Programme

European Community Funding

A wide range of European operated telescopes at different locations, including the United Kingdom Infrared Telescope (UKIRT), are offering observing time to external users through the OPTICON1 Trans-national Access Programme. This project is supported by the European Commission under the Seventh Framework Programme (FP7). User groups from EU Member States and Associated States2, meeting EC criteria of eligibility3, who are awarded observing time under this Access Programme via the standard peer-review selection process, will receive free access to the telescope/s concerned, as well as scientific and technical support to carry out the observations. EC funds are also available to cover travel, accommodation and subsistence costs Eligible users will be notified before the observing run is scheduled about this funding opportunity. Applications from new users, young researchers and users from countries with no similar research infrastructures are strongly encouraged. The OPTICON Trans-national Access Programme encompasses a total of 20 European telescopes at a wide range of locations. Usual deadlines and application procedures for each telescope apply and can usually be downloaded from their web-pages. Further information about this EC programme, criteria of eligibility, the full list of participating telescopes and deadlines, is available at the following address:


1.  OPTICON: the Optical Infrared Coordination Network ( is a major international project funded by the European Commission under the Seventh Framework Programme (FP7).

2.   For the purpose of this EC Programme (last updated - March 2009):
  • EU Member States are: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, Bulgaria and Romania.
  • Associated States are: Croatia, Iceland, Israel, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland and Turkey. Potential participants should confirm the exact situation of all these countries at the FP6 International Co-operation website.
3.  Criteria for eligibility (as of March 2009)
  • both the user group leader and the majority of the users must come from Member States or Associated States;
  • both the user group leader and the majority of the users must come from a country other than the country(ies) where the legal entity(ies) operating the infrastructure is(are) established
Contact: Tom Kerr. Updated: Fri Aug 14 14:06:57 HST 2009

Return to top ^